The Power of Thoughts

2014 was a shitty year for me. So at the beginning of 2015, the very first words I wrote in my journal were: 2015 will be better. Believe.

Indeed, it was.

2015 had been a roller coaster ride as I try to reach for my dreams. The highest point being when I finally got into the media; the lowest point being that feeling of a familiar burn out towards the end of last year.

I have this burning passion to tell stories from the ground. But I was hired to be an armchair journalist and was constantly writing about stabbing, shooting, rallying.

Perhaps I was just tired of crime stories, but I somehow felt tired of writing. Normally I would be so excited to grab my journal and pour my heart out as soon as I got home, but I started resenting the craft.

Instead of letting my thoughts flow into words, I went for the brush and paint. It was a mediocre attempt, though. Deep inside, I knew that my art is still writing.

So when 2016 opened, I wrote: Writing will take me to heights unimagined.

Surprisingly, with the half of the year through, I think I’m almost correct.

First, I was able to revive this blog from its near death. I am happy to say that I will not lose the momentum to keep on updating my readers anytime soon.

I’ve also been very fortunate to bag a few interesting writing sidelines. It helps give me another sort of identity as a writer and it makes me believe that there are still lots of good in the world.

I am positive that the rest of the year will bring out the best of my writer self. I am still looking for ways to better my craft and for opportunities that indeed will take me to heights I never dreamed of.

Response to the daily prompt: Prophecy

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

4 thoughts on “The Power of Thoughts

    1. Thank you so much! Yes, I just have to find ways to be in the right genre. It’s kind of hard finding balance between doing what I love versus what pays as of now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

