Hyperkinetic

I can’t sit still and stay idle for long. It goes against the grain. A jam-packed schedule I would choose over a very leisurely one at any given time.

I guess it’s one of the reasons I was lured into the news industry. There just never seems to be an idle hour, especially with the elections and all.

I find that I am happiest when I am busiest. I love being part of special events and there is a lot of chasing people and sticking to the timetable involved. I love the adrenaline rush that comes when a deadline looms because the urgency forces me to shift into a laser-like focus and it is nothing short of amazing.

Busyness also takes my mind away from self-loathing. For hours, no ill feelings would surface as all my energy is directed to the task at hand. I can’t name myself names nor can I belittle compare myself to the legends of the industry and feel small.

On days when I have no task to complete, I would find myself impulsively signing up for free online courses offered in various MOOC platforms. A lot of times, however, the internet sucks so I would go hoarding books instead. As long as something occupies my mind, I am very much okay.

Some days I do reach the point when all my energy is depleted and I am reminded that I am a human, after all — albeit a quirky one. But no sooner than when my energy gauge is full again will I  go back to my usual self, the one who is thirsty for things to do.

Written in response to the Daily Prompt: Grain

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

3 thoughts on “Hyperkinetic

Leave a Reply

