An Unfinished Book

Writing prompt: Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?


Looking at my bookshelf in our family library, I see Eric Gamalinda’s My Sad Republic. It stands out because of its thickness and the pronounced height of the book compared to all my other pocketbooks.

Back when I was a freshman, we were required to finish that book for a literature analysis class. As the title goes, it’s about a really depressing story. I wasn’t able to finish that book. Even our teacher changed his mind about us making an analysis of it because, well, it’s long and sad and everyone’s complaining about it being long and sad.
But thinking about it now, I might have enough courage to face the very grievous story and like it. The emotional contagion is a proof that the writer’s prose are effective. Besides, I do believe books are more enjoyable when it’s not required to be read.

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

2 thoughts on “An Unfinished Book

Leave a Reply

