I Might Just Be Plain Tasteless

Writing prompt: When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

Sherlock Holmes is a great detective story series, they said, so I started reading it. However, there is an obvious generation gap between Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and me. Holmes is a talented detective no doubt, but the language used in the book bores me to death.
Finishing a volume of Holmes adventures required me to summon a lot of willpower to read on. What drove me to keep reading was my motto of never leaving anything unfinished. Funny, e? I’m actually thinking of dumping that motto. It’s too troublesome.
Anyway, leaving me frozen was Agatha Christie. I read her right after I read Sherlock. The language was just as boring and Hercules Poirot, for me, felt like a reincarnation of Sherlock. I vowed not to open another Christie book after that. I still don’t. I hope that doesn’t offend anyone here who loves the two. After all, I might just be plain tasteless.

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

7 thoughts on “I Might Just Be Plain Tasteless

  1. The language and writing style of an author is definitely one reason to not connect. Sometimes the story itself can overcome it, sometimes not. My personal experience is Tolkien – I finished The Hobbit and the Trilogy due to the story and characters, but have never finished the Silmarillion, Sometimes the language is what drives you to keep reading. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did enjoy the premise of Murder on the Orient Express (even if it was copied a zillion times), but if I HAD to read a crime author, give me a bit of Ruth Rendell any day over Christie.

    Like

  3. There is definitely a generation gap, but there is frequently a genre gap, a gender, etc. etc. I have had a Man Crush on Jack London since I was a boy, with Hemingway coming in a close second. There are folks who can’t stand the terse, direct style with minimal description. I love it because my philosophy is to put nothing in that does matter to the story.
    Another aspect is purpose. My blog writing style is far different from my fiction. Some like one, but not the other. A few like both, and most of the world hates both. That’s the way it goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

