Oh Literary Witch

Writing prompt: A literary-minded witch gives you a choice: with a flick of the wand, you can become either an obscure novelist whose work will be admired and studied by a select few for decades, or a popular paperback author whose books give pleasure to millions. Which do you choose?


 

At first glance, I want to be an obscure writer. It sounds like the perfect choice for me since I’m not one who likes to go after fame. But on second thought, I’m not one who’d write such long piece as a novel. Read through this whole blog and I’m sure that my posts would have an average of 300 words. I like keeping things short and simple. Besides, I can’t picture myself writing novels; non-fiction and hard news writing are my specialties.
On the flip side, I don’t want to be a popular author. As a matter of fact, people who know me don’t even know I’m keeping this blog. No way am I going to tell them. Uh-uh.
Of greater problem is the fact that I think I’m getting tired of writing. Stitching the right words together, maintaining a conversational tone, I don’t want to do that anymore sometimes. The witch probably is understanding so I’d turn down her offers one and two and propose that she give me an ultra-fast reading speed so I can start devouring the 300 books on my shortlist.

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

5 thoughts on “Oh Literary Witch

Leave a Reply

