So What’Ya Think?

Writing prompt: What are some (or one) of the things about which you usually don’t trust your own judgment, and need someone’s else’s confirmation?


 

I need other’s confirmation in a lot of things. But the funny thing about it is that even if someone tells me I’m doing great things, I almost always don’t believe them. I know that’s crazy, but these are some of the common conversations I have…
“Do you think I look good in this dress?” “Yes, it fits you well.” “All right.” Five minutes later… “I’d stick with my shirt and jeans and sneakers.”
“Which of these photos would make a great profile photo?” My friend would scan, choose one, and I’d be reviewing it, comparing it with other photos. Five minutes later… “Never mind, I’d stick with the default generic photo.”
“Do you think I’ll succeed in life?” “Sure you will.” Five minutes later… “I’m stupid, I’m shitty, I’m fucked up. I think I should get a noose.”
I guess the bottom line of it all is that I don’t have enough self-worth. I know it’s tiring being with a person like me so I really admire people who still manage to understand and support me, people who try to make me believe I’m more than what I think I am.
Now let me just ask, what do you think of my writing?

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

2 thoughts on “So What’Ya Think?

Leave a Reply

