Not Another Unorthodox Story

Daily prompt: When life gives you lemons… make something else. Tell us about a time you used an object or resolved a tricky situation in an unorthodox way.


 

Old magazines are synonymous to curtains; old food wrappers, pillows. That’s because I like DIYs, especially when those artsy projects involve recycling.

I’m not one of those people who campaign about saving the earth, but I resolved that I will, to the best that I can, contribute less in the growing garbage problem. It started only a couple of months ago, when I was mortified by how much garbage our household of four produces. We were taught some recycling tips in grade school and in high school so a bulb somewhere in my mind lighted and I started applying what I learned.

We have lots of magazines at home. You know, those kinds that tell you you’re beautiful no matter what color, shape and size you are, but bombard you with images of white, tall, skinny girls nonetheless. I don’t like reading them but I feel sorry about sending all of them to trash bags. So I grabbed a pair of scissors and glue, rolled the strips I cut, and voila, paper beads! Strung it together, and there, I had a new curtain. Of course, that didn’t happen instantaneously. I worked on it at least an hour a day for more than a month.

My siblings and I love chips and about 50% of our trash are from our favorite chips’ bags. Once again, I resolved to salvage those supposed-to-be trash. I’m currently working on making throw pillows from those wrappers that we collected. Completing those tasks sure take a lot of time and patience, but it’s my way of escaping the stress that office work gives. Besides, I find joy in repurposing dirt.

It’s easy to throw seemingly useless things away. But my resolve is to create a new life from it. It’s the harder way I’ll gladly take.

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

One thought on “Not Another Unorthodox Story

Leave a Reply

