French Fries and…

From The Daily Post: Bacon and chocolate, caramel and cheddar… Is there an unorthodox food pairing you really enjoy? Share with us the weirdest combo you’re willing to admit that you like — and how you discovered it.

I am not sure about what qualifies as being an unorthodox way of pairing food. I mean, I’m not actually the foodie type. But I do have something to confess…

I like dipping my fries in caramel sundae. Hot fudge sundae is perfectly fine too.

Five years ago, my cousin told me she loved dipping her fries in her sundae. I tried it as well and liked it. I loved the roughness of the fries and the smoothness of the ice cream, the saltiness of the fries and the sweetness of the ice cream, the heat of the fries (if it was indeed served hot) and the coolness of the ice cream on my tongue. Then it turned into a regular pairing habit.

Is that unorthodox enough or do you do that too?

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

14 thoughts on “French Fries and…

  1. Yep, I have had French fries dipped in milk shakes before. My cousin from Australia introduced me to it when I was 9. Didn’t like it then, but it grew on me when another friend did it. I don’t do it often, and I don’t usually dip it in it, but sometimes I go to Mc Donalds and order some fries and a milkshake and eat them together to get the saltiness and the ice cream flavor!

    I wrote about a French fry one too. But it was one my roommate did. I couldn’t stomach it

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep!
    I tried your two combinations, as well as fries + strawberry sundae.
    If there’s any new sundae flavor, I often try it with fries – unless I don’t like the flavor.
    Also, I’ve tried fries + pancake syrup and fries + chicken gravy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is indeed something delectable when adding a little saltiness to sweets. It’s weird that way. And it’s funny that I never thought (or bothered finding out) a lot of people would like it. Thanks for dropping by!

      Like

  3. Your post reminds me a childhood dessert. Simple bisquick cake-ice cream-and all covered with chocolate syrup. It had that same warm, textured taste, next the the cool, smooth ice cream and topped with the soothing chocolate. Not sure why, but it was called ‘scholastic pudding’.
    enjoyed your post and the happy memories it evoked!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

