Non-modern Art

Sculptures, paintings, and sketches amaze me, especially if it’s crafted the old way: chisel on wood, brush on canvas, pencil on paper. Sure, digitally produced arts are beautiful and meaningful, but traditional art hold a special place in my heart.

2014-02-25 13.39.31

I grew up around wood carvings. Then and now, I marvel at the intricacy of the craft. From our narra doors to my mother’s collection of Ifugao deities and other religious icons, I can’t help but wonder at how the carvers did the tiniest curve on the wood. I am amazed with the consistency of the pattern, the attention to fine details, the symmetry of the piece, and the overall perfection of the carved product.
The same is true with paintings. How the artist renders his interpretation of a subject makes a piece so special. The strokes, the blend of dark and light colors, the theme have effects on my mood. Some paintings can even make me emotional. And it’s wonderful that way. Besides, the texture of paint on a canvass is just not the same with that of a digital painting.
And a sketch by an artist is definitely more special than its computerized counterpart. There’s something so wonderfully expressive about contrast and direction of shades. Or the lack thereof.
All forms of art affect me. But it’s always the artworks labored long and hard by the hand that will have the power to overwhelm me.

Writing prompt from The Daily Post

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

Leave a Reply

