Nosey Delights

Writing prompt from The Daily Post: From the yeasty warmth of freshly baked bread to the clean, summery haze of lavender flowers, we all have favorite smells we find particularly comforting. What’s yours?

I love waking to the sweet scent of ylang-ylang. We have a tree at home and I know just when it blossoms. Once a year, the tree blooms and its fragrance spreads throughout our 900-square meter property. And the scent just fills me with good vibes that I get enough – more than enough – positive energy for the day.

Ylang-ylang also gives me a nostalgic feeling.

My late father planted our ylang-ylang tree when my siblings and I were little. The first time it bloomed, we all shared a delight in a fragrance not familiar to us. We used to wait for that tree to grow higher. We used to pick its flowers and put it on our ears. I have come to associate that tree with the memory of my dad and of my childhood years.

A lot has changed since then. We’ve grown now. The tree, especially so. It’s so high that it’s higher than our house’s roof and the flowers beyond our reach.

So when our tree blooms or when I detect the distinct smell of ylang-ylang in places I go, I savor the sweet smell of the flowers and the sweet memories that go with it.

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

Leave a Reply

