Object Lesson

Writing prompt from The Daily Post: Sherlock Holmes had his pipe. Dorothy had her red shoes. Batman had his Batmobile. If we asked your friends what object they most immediately associate with you, what would they answer?

Two things immediately came into my mind: a book and a pair of earphones. I have both all the time. And I am confident my friends would answer one or the other or both.

Carrying those two things with me started when I was a freshman. I felt so uneasy being with people I don’t know. Then I found comfort in listening to music and reading a book. The habit went on until I don’t feel complete without having something to read or something to listen to.

A friend once said he doesn’t feel like I am me if I have no books in my arms. And I remember a new acquaintance telling me, “I saw you from afar and I know it was you. I recognized your earphones.” That was when I knew people could identify me with my favorite things.

It’s funny when people say our actions define us. Maybe they should count our favorite things in too.

Author:

I don't know who I am, and that is why I write.

Leave a Reply

